Clare Grist-Taylor

Clare Grist-Taylor


Secretary to the board; member of the Commercial Committee.

I've been a trustee at the Museum since January 2014, and take pride in the contribution the board makes to the continuing development of such an important part of our industrial heritage. I joined the board because I'm passionate about the inspirational power of museums and the importance of the industrial past that has shaped the world we live in today. I also wanted to contribute to my local community in West London.

Professionally, I’m a publisher, and have particular experience of working in, and directing, small companies, which has stood me in good stead as a non-executive. I am interested in how organisations are managed and governed, and have undertaken of a range of board roles, including several years as Chair of Governors at a local primary school.

When my children were younger, our family spent many a happy hour at the Museum, and it's great to see how energetically  and effectively the Museum is telling its story to a new generation of visitors and friends, while also retaining its prestige at the heart of steam engine conservation.

Our current board of trustees

Peter Roland
Oliver Pearcey
Nick Morgan
George Houstoun
Clare Grist-Taylor
Sam Fieldhouse
Edward Stannard
Anthony Coulis
Helen Ashby
Timothy Wellburn
Olivia O’Leary